About This Blog

This blog is about recurrent problems with the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority's public transit system. My particular crusade involves flagship line 910 (the "Silver Line") and its persistent, institutional unreliability after 9 PM.

I have been dealing directly and in good faith with Metro for some time now on this issue, but that private dialog has not resulted in any improvement in service. I started this blog in an attempt to provide another more public source of motivation for Metro to address their systemic failures.

Below I have posted my entire email exchange with Metro on this subject, and I will continue to update as the saga continues. The correspondence begins in November of 2011 only because that is when I discovered how to contact customer service. The problems with the silver line (and its transitway predecessors) started well before then. This email chain is unedited, except that I redacted my own name and contact info, and I removed redundant quotes of previous messages. Names and email addresses of Metro personnel have not been removed. I encourage you to contact them with your own thoughts. Also, feel free to leave comments here. I will probably delete anything vacuous or off topic, but if you have other complaints that aren't getting any traction, or if you have any suggestions that might improve service, please let me know.

For new visitors, the best way to read this blog is chronologically from bottom to top. The earliest entry is dated 2011-11-30. Since I can't seem to force all the posts onto one page, you'll have to start by clicking "2011" in the "Blog Archive" just below, or scroll all the way down and click "Older Posts."



From:   "Leahy, Arthur" <LEAHYA@metro.net> 
Subject:   RE: issue with metro silver line 
Date:   Wed, December 12, 2012 17:04 
To:   "'john.fasana@gmail.com'" <john.fasana@gmail.com> "Alejandro, Frank" <AlejandroF@metro.net> "Johnson, Debra" <JohnsonDeb@metro.net> "Woodson, James" <WoodsonJ@metro.net> "Leahy, Arthur T" <ALEAHY@metro.net> "Echternach, Mary Lou" <ECHTERNACHM@metro.net> "Michael Cano" <mcano@lacbos.org> "Kathryn Barger-Leibrich" <kbarger@lacbos.org> "Neil Bjornsen" <nbjornse7@gmail.com> "Wiggins, Stephanie" <WIGGINSS@metro.net> "Horne, Tom" <HorneT@metro.net> "N. Bjornsen" <mtacac.chair@ymail.com> "Soto, Patricia" <SOTOPA@metro.net> "Taylor, Paul" <TAYLORP@metro.net> "Yu, Kimberly" <YUKI@metro.net> "Corral-Lopez, Diane" <Corral-LopezD@metro.net> 
Cc:   fixmetro

We will do so.  Thanks

1 comment:

  1. I love the emails that you have sent to the MTA. I have been experiencing an ongoing problem with the MTA where the drivers do not know how to give me an all-day pass with the stored value on my TAP Card. Your emails are sarcastic, honest, and entertaining. I understand your frustration with the MTA and I am completely in your corner.